Basic Facts You Need To Know Before You Do Drunk Driving In Texas

The DWI or Driving While Intoxicated is one of the most common roadside violations in the United States. Year after year, thousands of motorists get flagged down for suspected over intoxication while driving. Similarly, there are also hundreds of accidents every month caused by drunk drivers.

Driving when you had too much to drink is never safe, not just for you but also to your passengers, fellow drivers, and the pedestrian. Regret is always in the end; thus, it is best to stay safe. Texas is one of the strictest states when it comes to driving laws so better be careful when you are drinking and planning to drive. If you know, you will drink much then it is better to leave your car and take a cab home or have someone drive you home. However, if you can, limit your drinking.

The consequences of getting arrested and eventually charged for DWI is serious. It will not only cause you embarrassment and money, but it could also hinder you from doing many things since you will have a criminal record. And for those who are asking is getting a DWI a felony? The answer there is yes but on a case to case basis. You will either get charged for misdemeanor DWI or felony DWI, depending on your offense and the gravity.

Misdemeanor DWI

On your first and second conviction for DWI, the charges will be counted as a misdemeanor. That is if the offense is a plain DWI. First and second offense DWI is class B misdemeanor and will get charged by the penalties for the crime. On your first offense, you may get penalized for a maximum of $2,000 plus jail time of no more than six months. On the second offense, the penalties are doubled. You may receive a prison time of no more than one year plus penalties of $4,000 maximum.

Felony DWI

There are three situations when a DWI may get counted as a felony. They are as follows.

Third Offense

While getting charged for DWI on your first and second is counted as a misdemeanor, your third is already considered a felony offense. Thus, you will be dealt with following the penalties of a felony. You may get a prison sentence of a maximum of two years plus fines of no more than $10,000. Additionally, your license may also get suspended, and you may need to pay annual charges of up to $10,000.

Serious Injury

Another instance when your DWI charge may get turned into a felony charge is when the court proves that your intoxication and drunk driving caused severe harm to someone. The basis for your poisoning will be on your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) which has a limit of 0.08. Once you exceed, you may get charged for intoxication assault under the Texas Penal Code Section 49.07.


If it is proven that you exceeded the BAC limit of 0.08 and your driving caused the end of an individual, then you will get charged for intoxication manslaughter which is underwritten under the Texas Penal Code Section 49.08. In this case, you may get indicted for a second-degree felony.

If you have any trouble with DWI in Texas, visit our firm so we can give you our expert assistance and counsel.


Preparing Yourself & Your Vehicle for Winter Driving

During the winter months, it is important to take extra care when operating your vehicle. It is a good idea to visit a service centre to have your car checked to ensure it is in the best condition to tackle the winter roads.

Braking Distance

When it comes to controlling your vehicle on icy or snowy roads, braking distance is vitally important. If your car isn’t prepared to navigate on slippery terrain, your ability to stop will be almost impossible. If you need to check your brakes or tyres in Bexhill-on-Sea, you should do before the winter sets in. A reputable service centre can run a full diagnostic to ensure everything in your car is working well. A full service and inspection include checks such as:

  • Checking of lights, tyres, exhaust and operation of brakes and steering
  • Engine oil change
  • Engine tuning
  • Steering alignment
  • Suspension assessment

Peddle Pressure

When driving during icy conditions, you should remember to apply light pressure to the brake pedal when you wish to stop. A sudden jerk on the pedal may cause you to skid and lose control of the vehicle.


If you’ve any issues with your lights, you should have it resolved by a mechanic before you decide to go out on the road. They help you and other road users to see, reducing the chance of an accident.

Drive Carefully

You must slow down to suit the conditions you are driving in – icy or snowy road surfaces are highly dangerous and one false move could spell disaster.

Be cautious driving during winter, and always have your vehicle checked by a professional mechanic.